Do not EVER come back here! - Reisverslag uit Castries, St. Lucia van Jamie Rayson - WaarBenJij.nu Do not EVER come back here! - Reisverslag uit Castries, St. Lucia van Jamie Rayson - WaarBenJij.nu

Do not EVER come back here!

Blijf op de hoogte en volg Jamie

08 Maart 2013 | St. Lucia, Castries

As requested by my beloved English family, I will write this blog in English, so they can enjoy all my adventures and experiences as well :)

A week has already past since my last blog and so many things have happened since then, I could almost write a blog about it everyday. But lets just start with my weekend. I actually had saturday AND sunday off, lucky me! Saturday, Milou was already off at 1 so we decided to do some shopping in Rodney Bay. Bought some new earrings, a new shirt and a new skirt and pants for work. Naturally, I fell in love with a pair of shoes but I didnt buy them! (yet..) So after our shopping we realized it was getting quite late so we decided to grab some burger king and head for the local bus, which would take us to Castries. From Castries we had to take the staff bus to the hotel. All seemed like an amazing plan, only this was the first time we actually went by local bus. So in Castries we got out of the bus at the last stop and started walking towards the staff bus, at least, we hoped we were going in the right direction. Walked through a lovely street (at least, thats what we thought) with music coming from everywhere and people along the street selling stuff. Unfortunately it was raining and it was starting to get dark.. and one thing you shouldnt do in Castries is be there when its dark. So after 5 minutes of walking we asked for directions and we continued until we ran into a man who asked us if we were from La Toc (the hotel we work), so not even thinking about why he would ask that, we answered yes we are! As soon as we said that he started screaming WHAT ARE YOU DOING HERE?? Do not EVER come back here!!! Turned out that we were in a part of town where we weren't supposed to be because its so unsafe. Luckily we were almost at the bus stop so he offered us a ride with his car. Again, not thinking about who he actually was and if we could trust him or not, we got into the car and he dropped us at the bus stop. Once we were there it was almost dark and thank god the bus arrived just 10 minutes later. It was only then when we were in the bus that we started thinking about all the things that could have gone wrong and we started laughing about how naive we were. But we've learned our lesson, if we go to Rodney Bay by bus we'll ask the driver to bring us to the other part of town and we'll definitely leave earlier to avoid the dark :)

After that adventure we sat down at home and had a drink with one of the other girls, Kristin. She invited us to go out in town later that evening with a bunch of interns and I decided to go, seeing that I didnt have to work the next day. So we went to town again, this time in the car of one of the employees at Sandals who saw us waiting for the taxi for ages cause he was late, so he offered us a ride. In town we met some other interns from Sandals Halcyon and had a great night. The next day I just went to the beach all day and enjoyed the beautiful weather :)

Monday I finally met the woman who I'm actually supposed to work with! She seemed very friendly and she invited me to come to the big housekeeping managers meeting on Wednesday and to go out for dinner that very same night with her, my manager and a woman who is visiting from another island (a housekeeping manager as well). And guess what, we're going out to dinner at the fine dining restaurant of the resort! So I'm looking forward to that! Apart from this the schedule is going much better now. I already started on one of the special projects, which is inspecting the turndown service. During that inspection we can also check if the attendants did their work during the day well. This project means that I'm working nights the whole week and next week I'll be on the day shift for a few days and then I'll return to the night shift until I'm done with my project. Which I really like cause my nightsupervisor is really nice. Apart from the hard working we're having a lot of fun and apparantly I have a good influence on him cause my boss said that he works much better when I'm around :)

On monday 2 new interns will arrive and one of them will be in our house, the other one in the second house. They are both from Holland, so probably from our school. Lets just hope they're nice :)

So to conclude, everything is still going good! We're now waiting for 2 of our friends to see if they can get off work early and then we're going on a partycruise!

Talk to you all soon again ;)
xx

  • 09 Maart 2013 - 15:14

    Carla:

    Spannend......... gelukkig met goede afloop!!! Enjoy! xxx

Reageer op dit reisverslag

Je kunt nu ook Smileys gebruiken. Via de toolbar, toetsenbord of door eerst : te typen en dan een woord bijvoorbeeld :smiley

Jamie

Actief sinds 21 April 2010
Verslag gelezen: 960
Totaal aantal bezoekers 11314

Voorgaande reizen:

13 Februari 2013 - 01 Augustus 2013

Stage St. Lucia!

07 Mei 2010 - 01 Oktober 2010

Mijn eerste reis

Landen bezocht: